Q Businesswoman Award


The Quadruplicity Conference Award, the “Q Award,” is presented annually by the Business Women’s Round Table as part of the Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce.  The Q Award q awardhonors the accomplishments and contributions of many women in our Chamber, with the winner being ultimately recognized as the Chamber’s Annual Businesswoman.

The Q Award was specifically designed with a focus on recognizing the unique strengths, capabilities and contributions of women in our local community.  It has evolved out of the internationally recognized ATHENA Leadership Award®, which has been presented at the annual Quadruplicity Women’s Conference for over 4 years, starting in 2009.


Award nominations will be solicited for women who best exemplify the following criteria: A woman who inspires others by exemplifying leadership, success, community service, and who demonstrates support for the Chamber and for other women.


Shelley Murphy, Piedmont Housing Alliance – 2018 Recipient

By recognizing outstanding women in our community, we create an environment that supports the development of women leaders. The Q Award winner was honored at the Quadruplicity Conference in March 2017, including a commemorative plaque as well as a listing in the Chamber’s Annual Dinner Program and acknowledgement on the Chamber’s website.  In addition, a feature article on the Q Award winner is run  on the Charlottesville Newsplex, the Charlottesville Radio Group and in The Daily Progress.


Past Q & Athena Award Recipients:

Shelley Murphy - 2018
Lorri Haney - 2017
Amy-Sarah Marshall - 2016
Jeanne McCusker - 2015
Carolyn Cullen - 2014
Barbara Hutchinson - 2013
Sue Friedman - 2012
Liza Myers Borches - 2011
Cathy Train - 2010
Cheri Lewis - 2009

Our Mission

The Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to representing private enterprise, promoting business, and enhancing the quality of life in our Greater Charlottesville communities.