A New Century � �dedicated to representing private enterprise, promoting business
and enhancing the quality of life in our Greater Charlottesville communities.� � 209 Fifth Street NE � Charlottesville, Virginia� 22902

(Charlottesville, Virginia � October 31)� The Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce has selected Cathy Smith Train, of Albemarle County, President of the United Way-Thomas Jefferson Area, a dynamic, recognized civic leader, to receive the prestigious Chamber Paul Goodloe McIntire Citizenship Award.� Ms. Train will be presented the Award at the 101st Annual Chamber of Commerce Dinner to be held at the Boar�s Head Inn Pavilion Thursday, November 13th.Cathy Train The 101st Annual Chamber Dinner is underwritten by CenturyLink, Hantzmon Wiebel, LLC and State Farm Insurance Companies.� The Keynote Address, featuring Cheryl A. Duncan, Vice President, Center for Education & Workforce, U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation, is underwritten by CFA Institute. �Cathy Train is a forward-thinking and leading citizen of our Greater Charlottesville community,� stated Valerie Long, a partner at the law firm of Williams Mullen, Chair of the Chamber Awards Recognition Committees, and Immediate Past Chair of the Chamber Board of Directors (2013).� �We are all better off as a result of Cathy�s contributions to our community, which have made it an even better place to live.�� �It is our Chamber�s great pleasure and honor to recognize Cathy, and as always, to recognize all the 38 past recipients of our Paul Goodloe McIntire Citizenship Award.� Cathy Smith Train has served the United Way-Thomas Jefferson Area for twenty-six years, twenty-two as its President and Chief Professional Officer. �Ms. Train, a graduate of the University of Virginia, with her husband Kirk, an accomplished Charlottesville-based architect, is a native of Macon, Georgia. In addition to her vibrant leadership of the United Way, Ms. Train�s wide community involvement includes her being an active member of the Albemarle Rotary Club, an active and devoted member of St. Paul�s Episcopal Church in Ivy, a founding member of Women United in Philanthropy; a Miller School Director, a member, Treasurer and Chair of the Chamber�s Board of Directors (2006); and much more. �Ms. Train is also a past recipient of the Athena Award presented at the Chamber�s 2010 Quadruplicity Women�s Conference. Ms. Train�s nominators noted, �Cathy Train has done (so much) to make our community a better place. �Her positive impact on the community spans many boundary lines. All the while she is a role model and tireless leader who is widely respected and whose counsel is highly valued. As she does not seek recognition, many of her accomplishments are not well known, but deeply appreciated by those who have benefitted from them and come to know her.� Cathy and Kirk, who live in Albemarle County, are the parents of Kelley, US Director, Digital Investments with OmnicomMediaGroup, in New York; and, Sam, a United States Navy Lieutenant Commander serving on the USS Higgins. The Chamber of Commerce established its prestigious Paul Goodloe McIntire Citizenship Award in 1975 to recognize outstanding citizen contributions to the greater Charlottesville area.� The Chamber award is named in honor of Paul Goodloe McIntire, whose good will set a standard of service that others through the years have reached for while helping to weave a fabric of selflessness that continues to provide for our community and its citizens.� A list of previous recipients is attached. The Chamber established the United Way, originally the �Community Chest,� seventy-one (71) years ago, in the middle of World War II, in June 1943. �Since its founding, the United Way has maintained its close ties with the Chamber of Commerce and entire business community in pursuit of its community-building and philanthropic goals.� Today the United Way goals � incorporated into �One Vision� � are: School Readiness, Self-Sufficiency and Community Health. The 2014 Chamber Paul Goodloe McIntire Citizenship Award Selection Committee included: Ms. Long as Committee Chair; Charlie Armstrong of Southern Development; Dr. Rosa Atkins, Charlottesville City School Superintendent, Suzanne Brooks of Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company; Peggy Echols, State Farm Insurance Companies Vice President; Dr. Frank Friedman, President, Piedmont Virginia Community College and Chamber Board Chairman; Eddie Giles, President of Professional Movers; Kevin Leibl, President of Advanced Systems Network; Joseph Sabol of Klockner Pentaplast; Erika Viccellio, Executive Director of the Charlottesville Free Clinic; Chad Zakaib of Legacy Hospice and Chamber First Vice Chairman; and, Timothy Hulbert, Chamber President and chief executive. At the 101st Annual Chamber Dinner, the Chamber will also debut its new video, �Charlottesville � America�s #1 Community,� underwritten by University of Virginia, Charlottesville Area Association of Realtors, and produced by WVIR NBC29 and The Chamber.� The Chamber will also unveil its newly redesigned Chamber website, The Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce was founded in Charlottesville in 1913 and, now in its �New Century� remains �dedicated to representing private enterprise, promoting business and enhancing the quality of life in our greater Charlottesville communities.� The Chamber�s more than 1,100 member and affiliate member enterprises employ more than 45,000 people in our community, representing an estimated total payroll of more than $1.75 billion a year.

Paul Goodloe McIntire Citizenship Award Recipients

Cathy Smith Train � 2014

Cole Hendrix � 2013

Michael Gaffney � 2012

Martin V. Burks, III � 2011

Alvin R. Clements � 2010

John T. Casteen, III � 2009

Dan & Lou Jordan � 2008

Harold B. Wright � 2007

Grace H. Carpenter � 2006

Joseph W. Teague, Sr.� � 2005

E. Marshall Pryor � 2004

Leonard Sandridge � 2003

William L. Howard � 2002

James S. Kennan � 2001

Paul H. Wood � 2000

Richard & Julia Nunley � 1999

Mary Ann Elwood � 1998

Mr. George & Ann Spence � 1997

Laurence Richardson� 1996

Guy Agnor � 1995

The Jessup Family � 1994

Nancy O�Brien � 1993

Darden Towe � 1992

Mr. & Mrs. James Murray � 1991

Elizabeth B. Gleason � 1990

Drewary J. Brown � 1989

John B. Rogan � 1988

Hovey S. Dabney � 1987

Leigh B. Middleditch, Jr. � 1986

Francis Fife � 1985

Bernard J. Haggerty � 1984

George C. Palmer II � 1983

James E. Bowen � 1982

Junius R. Fishburne � 1981

Laurence Brunton � 1980

Mary Victoria Craw � 1979

Lionel S. Key � 1978

Randolph H. Perry � 1977

Joel M. Cochran � 1976

Mitchell Van Yahres � 1975

Our Mission

The Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to representing private enterprise, promoting business, and enhancing the quality of life in our Greater Charlottesville communities.